Muffin Top Epilogue

25 Jun

I’d like to thank Nikiya Callender Scott for inviting me to Fitwars and for the accountability that comes with being part of the group. From what I understand part of being in the group is posting before and after pictures. So I posted my pic here (including the previously blogged about evil muffin top!) . I look forward to gleaning inspiration from other members and hope that I can reciprocate.

I’ve been fooling around in the gym for about three weeks. I could see some change and felt close to buffed again. For me “buffed” meant my chest looked bigger than my stomach with a button down shirt on. However, when I took my before picture for Fitwars my muffin top (fortunately they’re mini muffins now) and my moobs (man boobs) stood out in all their glory. So Fitwars has helped me already. It made me realize that I need to stop patting myself on the back for losing 1/32” off my waist and get serious. The first mistake I made was screwing around with upper body exercises when I know I need to get my skills up in aerobic work and lose the fat first. Seeing your chest and shoulders swelled and veined up (that’s called a pump) right after a workout is sooooo rewarding. It’s like candy for gym heads. Well it’s time to eat my vegetables. So it’s back to the original workout plan and it’s also time to make a workout chart and get consistent. The original plan, instead of impressing myself in the gym, is to burn fat on the elliptical machine then build up endurance with free weights (that means lower weight and more reps). Once my endurance feels right I can begin to work on strength by increasing weight and still doing endurance sets. There is one thing I’ll be adding to my repertoire that I never thought I’d be able to do after fracturing my shin bone, that’s running. It turns out that bike riding was low impact enough to get me back into the groove of things and build my injured leg  up enough so I can run! The goal is to get the six pack visible before Fall semester starts. Anybody can get a 6 pack in 4 to 6 weeks, it’s getting rid of the layer of fat it hides under that’s the tricky part! Running’s always the move when your torso starts going wacky. Then I’ll be able to ride better…so I can run better…so I can ride better…so I can…uh oh, I think I have the workout bug! Happy trails!

These muffin tops are dead meat!

One Response to “Muffin Top Epilogue”

  1. Gold1204 June 25, 2012 at 5:34 PM #

    Thx for the shout out

Leave a Reply

